The Board is responsible for the management and strategic development of Chisholm Institute with a number of objectives:

  • Establish goals and long term strategic directions for the Institute
  • Provide quality vocational education and training and adult, community and further education programs and services
  • Identify needs for high quality vocational education and training in industry
  • Involve staff in the continuous development of their skills
  • Develop and maintain strong relationships with local and regional communities
  • Manage and control the Institute efficiently and effectively and to optimise the efficient use of resources.

Each Board member brings with them significant expertise in terms of their own professional knowledge and experience, but all share a passion for the future of Chisholm.

Stephen G. Marks (Ministerial Appointee and Elected Board Chair)

Stephen is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia with over 40 years’ experience. He was formerly National Chairman of Sothertons Chartered Accountants. He has also acted as a Probity auditor and advisor to various State and Federal Governments.

Stephen is now a professional director having been as a director of numerous companies and organisations throughout his career. He currently acts as a board member of St. Vincent's Institute and The Production Company.

Stephen Varty MAICD (Chief Executive Officer and Director)

Stephen was appointed to the position of Director and Chief Executive Officer from the 18 November 2019 having held the position of interim Chief Executive Officer April.

Previous to this, he held the position of Chief of Education, having joined Chisholm in 2015 from Victoria University where he was the Director of Innovation and Engagement. Stephen has held a number of senior managerial leadership positions across the VET and HE sectors both in the UK and Australia.

Stephen has wide ranging experience in the Education and Training sectors and a passion for education and implementation of innovative practice, creative training solutions, coaching and leadership execution to transform and increase the competence and productivity of individuals and business.

Stephen holds a Bachelor of Education - VET (Charles Sturt University), a Graduate Certificate in Educational Leadership (Victoria University) and a Masters of Education (Victoria University).

Dr. Anne Jones (Ministerial Appointee)

Anne is a researcher and consultant in VET policy. She is a member of Tradeswomen Australia’s Strategy Council and an Emeritus Professor at Victoria University.

Her work has included 16 years in senior executive roles such as Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academic and Students), Deputy Vice Chancellor and Director TAFE at Victoria University and Executive Director Learning and Academic Affairs at Box Hill Institute.

Anne has led a wide range of VET and higher educational programs.

Prue Digby (Ministerial Appointee)

Prue has had over 30 years’ experience working in senior executive roles providing community and publicly related services to Melbourne and regional Victoria in the state, local and non-Government sectors.

Prue is the former Chief Executive Officer of the Victorian Building Authority, Deputy Secretary of Planning and Local Government in Victoria and Chief Executive Officer of the City of Yarra. Prue currently serves on a number of statutory and charitable Boards.

John Bennie PSM (Ministerial Appointee)

John has been CEO of Greater Dandenong City Council since 2006. He is a former director of the South East Melbourne Manufacturers' Alliance, immediate past Chair of the Southern Melbourne Regional Development Australia Committee and National President of LGMA.

He was previously CEO of Manningham City Council and a board member of South East Development (Melbourne) Area Consultative Committee.

Dr. Mei Ling Doery (Ministerial Appointee)

Mei is a Physician strategist and founder of MDMD a boutique strategy and design practice that operates at the intersection of health and innovation. Mei has with a particular interest in the emotional factors that impact decision making relating to health and performance. Her mission is to better align capital with people and businesses that serve the creation of long-term human value.

Mei’s perspective on contemporary health challenges is informed roles as medical advisor for the Department of Veteran Affairs, and past roles with the Australian Defence Force, team doctor for an AFL Football Team, Executive Physician at BUPA Wellness, Board Member to the Victorian Health Promotion Foundation, and as independent advisor to several organisations including the Parliament of Victoria and Commonwealth Scientific Research and Industrial Organisation.

Sue Wyatt (Staff Elected)

Lisa Norman (Board Co-opted)

Lisa is CEO of St John of God Berwick Hospital. Lisa has worked in the health industry for 30 years and in Executive leadership roles for 17 years. Initially gaining qualifications as a Registered Nurse, she went on to gain qualifications in critical care nursing specialising in emergency and trauma nursing.

She also has a Graduate Certificate in Catholic Leadership and Culture. Lisa has recently been appointed by the Department of Health and Human Services to the Victorian Clinical Council. Lisa is the chair of the Infrastructure, Systems and Planning Committee.

David Mann AM, FAICD (Board Co-opted)

David is Chairman of Entertainment Assist, the Victoria Police Blue Ribbon Foundation, the Victoria Police Blue Ribbon Day Community Council, and the Mount Macedon Memorial Cross Community Committee of Management.

David is also a board member of The Production Company, Connected Communities Melbourne, and Managing Director, Mann Promotions Pty Ltd a company for promotions, marketing, public relations and crisis management.

Geoffrey Cullen (Board Co-opted)

Geoff is a finance professional with over 40 years’ experience in banking, finance and risk management. He has held senior executive positions in Australia, New Zealand, the UK and the United States.

Geoff has worked in the not for profit sector in risk management, governance, compliance and finance and is a member of the Finance Risk and Governance Committee of Skyline Education Foundation, where he previously served as the Director responsible for Finance and Risk. He currently chairs a Risk Committee in the private sector and serves as an independent member on the Investment Committees of two unlisted property finance funds.